Research Guides: COMM 3352: Communication in Professional Life: Career Interview

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Occupational Outlook Handbook by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.

Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.

Career Guide to Industries (CGI), 2010-11 Edition by Bureau Of Labor Statistics
Information about: occupations in industries, training and advancement, earnings, expected job prospects, working conditions

Business Source Complete
Covers content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.Includes academic, professional, and trade journals, as well as country economic reports, detailed company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and product reviews.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Access over 32,000 full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
Films on Demand
Search for streaming videos about industry careers.
LearningExpress Library™
Includes Career Center Plus to learn more about careers such as: caseworker, homeland security, law enforcement, legal, nursing, and teaching.
O*Net OnLine
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this database provides information on career exploration and job analysis.
Small Business Source
Comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business. Includes top consumer small business reference eBooks, a collection of state-specific resources and a set of business videos.
Vocational & Career Collection
Use this database to find articles about careers. To search: type in the occupation title and the words career information. For example: Registered Nurse Career Information.

abilityJOBS
A website dedicated to enabling people with disabilities to find employment. Site contains resources for both employers and job seekers as well as a FAQ section.
Career Exploration & Trends
Provided by the Texas Workforce Commission, this site includes links for exploring career opportunities, Wages by occupation and area, occupational information, industry information, and more.
CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Contains information on careers, jobs, wages, industry, and more.
Texas Career Check
Provides occupation information and trends.
Virtual Career Network
Career information in Healthcare. Include information on salary, outlook, duties, education, and more.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).