Skip to Main Content

ASU Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton, 2018

Award-winning poet and memoirist Brian Turner and 19 other writers will present and discuss their works works at the 22nd annual ASU Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton, Thursday and Friday, February 22-23.

Brian Turner -- This year's featured writer

Profile Image

The English and Modern Languages Department invite you to attend the 22nd Annual ASU Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton, Thursday and Friday, February 22-23.

Please visit the Conference web page for information about this year's featured writer, Brian Turner.

This Research Guide highlights selected biographical information and books available in the Porter Henderson Library or other full text or media available through the web or our databases. ;Additional Information about this author can be found on his website.

Library Display for the 22nd Annual Writer's Conference

Conference Schedule / Program

22nd Annual Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton
February 22-23, 2018

NOTE: This year's sessions will be held in two venues: the C. J. Davidson Conference Center and the University Auditorium

Thursday, February 22

9:30-10:45 a.m. “A Conversation with Brian Turner” [UC Conference Center]
11 a.m.-12 p.m. Session One: Jerry Craven (poetry) and Drew Geyer (fiction) [UC Conference Center]
12-12:15 p.m. High School Contest Winners Announced
2-3:15 p.m. Session Two: Fazlur Rahman (nonfiction), Chuck Taylor (poetry), and Connie Williams (poetry) [UC Conference Center]
3:30-4:30 p.m. Session Three: Sherry Craven (poetry) and Jeffrey DeLotto (nonfiction) [UC Conference Center]
7:30-8:30 p.m. “An Evening with Brian Turner” [University Auditorium]

Friday, February. 23

9-9:50 a.m. Session Four: Matt Byars (poetry) and Dana Glossbrenner (fiction) [University Auditorium]
10-10:50 a.m. Session Five: Micah Heatwole (poetry) and Terri Tucker (fiction) [University Auditorium]
11-11:50 a.m. Session Six: Alan Birkelbach (poetry) and Karla Morton (poetry) [University Auditorium]
2-3:15 p.m. Session Seven: Brock Kingsley (nonfiction), Michael Rather, Jr. (poetry), and Charlotte Renk (poetry) [University Auditorium]
3:30-4:30 p.m. Session Eight: Mark Mellon (fiction), Logan Seidl (poetry), and Loretta Walker (poetry) [University Auditorium]

FMI visit the Writers Conference web site or call (325) 486-6142

Angelo State University, Member
Texas Tech University System