Skip to main content

Basic Library Research & Writing: 8. Full Text Finder & Interlibrary Loan

Research

Finding Full Text Articles Video

If your instructor has asked you to watch library videos and take quizzes, you need to do that through the Information Literacy course in Blackboard. The course should be listed under your Blackboard list of "My Courses" in the left navigation menu.

Interlibrary Loan Video

If your instructor has asked you to watch library videos and take quizzes, you need to do that through the Information Literacy course in Blackboard. The course should be listed under your Blackboard list of "My Courses" in the left navigation menu.

Full Text Finder and Interlibrary Loan

Full Text Finderk

If you are searching U-Search or another database and do not see the full text of an item, click on Full Text Finder to see if the item may be available in another online Library resource. Look for the Full Text Finder logo as shown below. Full Text Finder replaces the 360 Link service.

For additional information on how to use Full Text Finder, which works basically the same way as 360 Link, please watch the video located on this page.

Interlibrary Loan

If you have checked U-Search, the other Library databases by using Full text Finder, and RamCat... and you are sure the Library does have access to an item you want, you can request that the Library get the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Before doing so, realize that it can take up to ten days for the ASU Library to receive an item from another University. If your assignment is due tomorrow or in the next couple of days, interlibrary loan will not help because you probably won't get the item in time to use it. This is another good reason to do your research early!

You can place Interlibrary loan requests through most of the ASU databases. Look for an Interlibrary Loan or ILL link or image. If you do not see a place to request an interlibrary loan request, you can go to the Library's Interlibrary Loan webpage and utilize the appropriate form.

Librarian's Hint: When placing an interlibrary loan request, do NOT put down a date saying that you need the item in the next day or two. It is unlikely you will get it in a day or two AND the computer system will automatically stop looking for it after that date.

The Library can get items from other libraries for free more than 85% of the time. If you want to, you can specify the amount you are willing to pay for an item upfront. The minimum charge will be $10 or more. Or if we cannot get the item for free, we will e-mail you and let you know, but this will delay delivery of your item. 

 

-Mark Allan