Research Guides: Music: Databases

Databases

Music Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

American Memory This link opens in a new window
Free access to a few select collections of primary source materials (images, maps, sound recordings, and motion pictures) documenting the American experience.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly articles encompassing all fields of the humanities
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Free access to digitized versions of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of CD-length streaming audio recordings covering Classical, Jazz, World, Classic Rock, and Nostalgia music.
[A small number of historical recordings are not available in the United States due to territorial or copyright restrictions.]

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles from academic, professional, and trade journals, as well as country economic reports, detailed company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and product reviews.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Community-driven discovery service providing access to 37,052 academic, peer-reviewed, open access books from 607 publishers.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering virtually every general interest subject area, this database provides full text access to more than 2,300 magazines and journals, 870 reference books, and 73,000 primary source documents.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of eJournals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.

Suggested Keywords

music, history, theory, composing, education, harmony, sight-singing, ear-training, diction, nomenclature, repertory, rhythm, interval, scale, melody, harmony, blues, jazz, instrument, instrumentation, instrumental, electronic, keyboard, piano, guitar, brass, woodwind, wind, reed, percussion, strings, choral, vocal, opera, conducting, marching, band, orchestra, orchestration, arranging, performance, technology, musical, popular, rock, rock and roll, country

U-Search - Performing & Visual Arts

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).