Research Guides: Career Goals: Career Exploration

Tips for Searching

Look for more career information in U-Search or RamCat. Both can be found on the library's homepage.

Remember to:

phrase search with quotation marks:"STEM careers"
use Boolean operators (and, or, not): "career guide" AND engineering
use synonyms: nurse OR "registered nurse"
use truncation symbols to search multiple endings of a root word
- In RamCat the truncation symbol is a question mark: engineer? (engineer, engineers, engineering, etc.)
- In most of our databases the truncation symbol is an asterisk: engineer*

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for 337 trade and industry related periodicals.

Find the Best Career for You
Includes information for matching college major with a career, choosing a career, FAQs for Job Seekers with Disabilities, and Working Remotely from Another Country.
Jobs Y’all
Jobs Y’all is where you can explore good-paying and meaningful careers in growing industries. Here, you’ll discover rewarding and satisfying jobs right in your hometown or elsewhere in Texas. Find the career that matches your interests and goals.
My Next Move
An interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. My Next Move has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers.
mySkills myFuture
Helps workers use existing skills and experience to explore new employment and career options.
Texas Career Check
Texas Career Check offers information on hundreds of job titles, pay information, and future projected jobs, this interactive website can help answer your education and career exploration questions.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Useful for exploring projected growth in any industry in any given area.
What Can I Do With This Major?
Wondering how to connect majors to careers? Click on majors of interest to see outlines of common career areas, employers, and strategies designed to maximize career opportunities.

Career Videos from CareerOneStop
Career videos are organized into 16 clusters, or related types of work. Select a category to view a list of videos related to that cluster. Videos include career details such as tasks, work settings, education needed, and more.
Career Cluster / Industry Videos
Learn about the major U.S. industries and the types of careers they offer. Each cluster/industry includes overview and occupation videos.

Look for more career information in U-Search or RamCat found on the library's homepage.

Remember to:

phrase search with quotation marks:"STEM careers"
use Boolean operators (and, or, not): "career guide" AND engineering
use synonyms: nurse OR "registered nurse"
use truncation symbols to search multiple endings of a root word
- In RamCat the truncation symbol is a question mark: engineer? (engineer, engineers, engineering, etc.)
- In most of our databases the truncation symbol is an asterisk: engineer*