Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Set aside time: Searching for OER takes time & persistence, just like research.
Look at your current text: Is your current textbook available through the library databases?
Locate an OER text: Check to see if a whole OER textbook already exists for your course.
Browse open repositories: Browse several repositories to see what content is available
Supplement: Look at your learning objectives and find different materials for different topics.
Ask for help: Call a librarian to get help. You can do this at anytime!
Link to the Texas A&M University Corpus Christi | Mary and Jeff Bell Library resource for instructions. There you will find both printed instructions as well as some videos to walk you through the process.
Use the Mason OER Metafinder to search 16 major OER repositories with a single search.
A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 64 different sources and contains 160,546 records.
Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons
This new digital library of OER can be used to discover, collaborate, and create with educators to improve curricula and features innovative search features and curated collections of resources, making it even easier for faculty to find the right resource(s) for their course.
From the state of Virginia. Features over 10,000 video, text, and audio entries. The project covers K12 and Higher Education, and has options to search by subject for materials and for educators to work together through the platform.
The following is a select list, by no means exhaustive, of OER sites:
- The Open Textbook Library is a searchable, browsable collection of more than 500 open textbooks. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed. Most have faculty-authored reviews.
- OpenStax offers 30 college-level textbooks in the areas of math/statistics, science, sociology, psychology, business, economics, history, and American government. It also offers several titles for high school Advanced Placement courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. OpenStax books feature supplemental resources for instructors, such as PowerPoint slides and solutions to end-of-chapter problems. With most titles, students have the option of buying interactive iBook versions for $6.99 each or ordering print copies from Amazon (prices currently range from about $25–$50). Most books also have Bookshare versions that can be used by those with visual disabilities. Many titles have free Kindle versions.
- OER Commons is a large collection that can be browsed by grade level, subject area, and material type. The Open Author tool lets instructors combine text, pictures, sound, files, and video.
- Wikibooks has more than 3,000 books in its open textbook collection.
- MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a free and open peer-reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. An advanced search tool enables searching by grade level, subject area, material type, language, and technical format.
- College Open Textbooks offers open textbooks in a variety of subjects.
- Saylor Academy Bookshelf features more than 100 open textbooks. Saylor Academy also offers tuition-free courses in a wide range of subjects; many feature OER.
- Cool4Ed (California Open Online Library for Education) features open textbooks, course materials, and free online courses.
- Open Course Library was created for 81 of the most heavily enrolled community college courses in the state of Washington.
- British Columbia Campus OpenEd currently offers more than 260 open textbooks. Many have a Canadian focus (and use metric system).
- Tidewater Community College in Virginia offers its entire library of open textbooks in a range of subjects.
- Open SUNY Textbooks currently offers 22 titles. Another open textbook is in development.
- The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) offers more than 55 books on legal topics.
- Project Gutenberg offers more than 57,000 free ebooks. Most are older works for which copyright has expired.
- The Teaching Commons features OER from leading colleges and universities. Content includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more. It's curated by librarians and their institutions.
- Directory of Open Access Books features more than 13,000 academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 282 publishers.
- Temoa is a multilingual catalog of OER.
- The Orange Grove: Florida’s Digital Repository
- Global Text Project
- Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
- The American Institute of Mathematics' website features open math books that have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
- Grand Valley State University offers several open textbooks.
- Noba textbooks focus on psychology. Instructor manuals, PowerPoint presentations, and test banks are available for many modules.
- Open Courseware: An independent search engine that indexes open education classes from places like MIT, Yale and UMass.
- LearningSpace from Open University: All of the learning materials presented on this site are CC licensed, but don't confuse "Learning Spaces" with the full Open University- their licensing/copyrights are different.
- The Orange Grove: Florida's collection of open ed sources.
- Lumen Learning: Offers free and open access to open courses across a variety of high-enrollment subjects and disciplines. Each course includes a complete set of OER-based readings and sample assessments. All courses include some level of built-in video delivery and interaction. Instructors may teach the course as-is or further adapt the course structure and content to fit their teaching style and students’ needs.
- Saylor Academy: Offers more than 300 free, self-paced courses. All required course resources—including textbooks, videos, webpages, and activities—are accessible at no charge. Saylor courses also contain a free final exam with the opportunity to earn a free course completion certificate.
- Class Central: This site aggregates Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) from more than 470 different universities, including Stanford, Harvard, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). It also offers a notification/reminder service called MOOC Tracker.
- Coursera: Offers more than 1,000 free online courses.
- EdX: Except for professional education courses, edX courses are free for everyone. Some courses have a fee for verified certificates but are free to audit.
- Udacity: All Udacity courses offer free access to course materials, but some courses charge for the full course experience (including access to projects, code-review and feedback, a personal Coach, and verified certificates).
The price varies depending on the course.
- Open Yale Courses: Provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by Yale instructors. No course credit, degree, or certificate is available through the Open Yale Courses website.
- Massachusetts Institute of Technology OpenCourseWare: MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world; materials have an Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike Creative Commons license. OCW does not offer certificates of completion.
Interactive modules, learning objects, & lessons
- Ted: Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
- Khan Academy hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects; especially strong collections in science and math.
- PhET Science Simulations: These interactive tools from the University of Colorado at Boulder are mostly CC licensed.
- Wikimedia Commons: The thinkers behind Wikipedia bring you images, video and music all openly licensed or in the public domain.
- CLIP Information Literacy Tutorials: Find great tutorials on information and research competencies.
- HippoCampus: HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education (MITE), is full of high-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
- Jamendo: Songs by musicians who want to share their music.
- Vimeo: A social network of video producers. This is a great place to look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.
- Critical Commons: A community of people who seek to promote the use of media in teaching. The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines.
The Creative Commons Search is a great tool for searching for images you can use, remix, and share. You can search across a number of sites, including:
- Flickr (see Flickr Commons for public photo archives from around the world)
- Google Images (to find images that are free to use, share, or modify, go to Settings, select Advanced Search, then narrow your search by usage rights)
- Open Clip Art
- Pixabay - Free photos for commercial and private use - no attribution necessary. Some photos may come from other websites, such as Shutterstock, which may not fall under public domain - check each photo to ensure that it is public domain.
- Wikimedia Commons
Other image sites:
Internet Archive This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.