Skip to Main Content

Security Studies

Supporting the Angelo State University Global Security Studies M.S.

Reference (Quick Information) Resources

World Factbook
The World Factbook presents the basic country information and is one of the U.S. Government’s most accessed publications.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States

Some Dated Reference Resources that may still be of historical value

Encyclopedia of Human Rights by David P. Forsythe
Publication Date: 2009
Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.
The Encyclopedia of War by Gordon Martel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Covers the history of warfare from ancient times to the present day across the globe.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History by David Milne; Timothy J. Lynch (Editor-In-Chief); Paul S. Boyer (General Editor); Christopher Nichols
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Nigel Young (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Offers a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Timothy L. Gall; Jeneen Hobby
Publication Date: 2009
Presents 500 world cultures, including folklore, rites of passage, holidays, education, work, entertainment, and gender issues.
Wiley Handbook of Science and Technology for Homeland Security, 4 Volume Set by John G. Voeller (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Explores the needs of the homeland security and intelligence communities and the international dimensions of security research.
World Terrorism: An Encyclopedia of Political Violence from Ancient Times to the Post-9/11 Era by James Ciment
Publication Date: 2013
More than 200 in-depth articles providing essential background on the various types, definitions, and categories of terrorism.