Research Guides: Theatre: Websites

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).

Websites

American Theatre Archive Project (ATAP)
A network of archivists, dramaturgs, and scholars dedicated to preserving the legacy of the American theatre. ATAP supports theatre makers in archiving records of their work for the benefit of artists, scholars, patrons, and the public.
American Theatre Wing
The Wing invests in brave work, supports creative growth, and celebrates excellence to bring inclusive stories to our national culture through theatre. Provides grants and scholarships, connect talent at all stages with educational and professional opportunities, and create content that illuminates and preserves theatre.
The Broadway League
The National Trade Association for the Broadway Theatre Industry. The Broadway League's 700-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers in North American cities, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the commercial theatre industry.
Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)
Authoritative, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Official database for Broadway theatre information. Provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Theatre on Film and Tape Archive (New York Public Library)
"Since 1970, the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive (TOFT) has preserved live theatrical productions and documented the creative contributions of distinguished artists and legendary figures of the theatre." (Description from the website).

Ace Your Auditions
Online resource for aspiring actors, aimed at helping them improve their audition technique. Among other things, the site provides access to over 1,000 free monologues broken down by category.
The Actor's Checklist
A fairly comprehensive site containing information and advice for actors new to the business of the art.
Actrorama
A place to find acting parts and it also offers a database of monologues and scenes.
Backstage
Find and apply to over 4000 casting calls and auditions, job opportunities, and career advice.
International Dialects of English Archive (IDEA)
Archive of primary-source recordings of English-language dialects and accents as heard around the world.

Costume Institute Digital Collections (Metropollitan Museum of Art)
Texts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
The LIghting Archive
Growing collection of actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets from real shows. Emphasis is placed on historical productions and designers who have made important contributions to the field.
Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States.
The Textile Museum (George Washington University)
Collection overview, exhibition information, resources for educators, and more. Site also features helpful resource information regarding general textile care, preservation, and storage.
Theatrecrefts.com
Developing resource for students, theatre technicians, designers and practitioners. Based in the UK.
Europeana Fashion
Portal to the digital collections of 32 major European museums and archives, including modern and period costume and fashion.

Find a Play
Search 21,780 plays by title, author, or both
How to Become a Playwright
A few pointers for early-career playwrights to keep in mind.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Official database for Broadway theatre information. Provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Playdatabase.com
Search our database of over 12,000 plays by the terms that mean something to you-- number of characters, runtime, genre, and more!
PlayFinder at Dramatists Play Service
Offers an extensive list of titles, including many of the most significant American plays of the past half-century. Searchable by number and gender distribution of cast members.
Playscripts
2,174 plays & musicals by 1,380 authors.
Playwriting Toolkit
Free articles offer practical tips about how to get started as a playwright, playwriting 101, and advice from those in the theater industry.

Contact Us

Did we forget to include your favorite resource? Let us know!

reference@angelo.edu

325.486.6534

Porter Henderson Library