Research Guides: Sociology: Databases

Databases

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals in the health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965 dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity. Content is assembled using a strict evidence-based editorial policy focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of the most current clinical research.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database that provides a wealth of useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and other research materials in all the fields of psychology
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Contains unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text reviews of English language adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction titles.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage expands across all academic subject areas with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference work with citations of essay and miscellaneous works published in the U.S, Canada & Great Britain
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly articles encompassing all fields of the humanities
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and contains full-text articles from thousands of journals, magazines and books covering all aspects of the humanities
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of eJournals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.

African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience
The Christian Science Monitor Historical Newspaper (1908-2009) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Christian Science Monitor for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the high-resolution, digital facsimiles of daily issues of The Dallas Morning News published between 1885 and 1985.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of Hispanic American Newspapers published between 1808-1980
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1999) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of the historical Los Angeles Times for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selective full text for some national and regional newspapers, including television and radio transcripts for the some of the major news channels
The New York Times Historical Newspaper (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The New York Times for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in full-color, full-page format.
The Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper (1889-2011) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Wall Street Journal for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Washington Post Historical Newspaper (1877-2006) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Washington Post for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Access a vast collection of U.S. statutes, case law materials, public records and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information.

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the U.S.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to detailed corporate financial and operational information as well as company news
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Suggested Keywords

social psychology, ethnicity, women in mass media, social structure, family, criminology, social medicine, juvenile delinquency, culture, aging, sex role, social stratification, religion and sociology, secularism

U-Search - Social Sciences

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).