Research Guides: Communication: Databases

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, communication theory, and other closely related fields of study.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for major journals in communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all types of writing on topics for film and television. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Resources include: industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and contains full-text articles from thousands of journals, magazines and books covering all aspects of the humanities
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of eJournals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs.

The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection covers 1885-1977 Also includes African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Selected Historical Newspapers. Accessible by keyword and date searching

For newspaper websites, please see the news tab

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts from radio and TV news channels. Selective full-text
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Business and legal news, including newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and industry publications

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly articles encompassing all fields of the humanities
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
Proceedings First This link opens in a new window
Provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide

U-Search - Languages & Literature, Communication & Mass Media

Suggested Keywords

performance studies, production, script, stage, interpersonal communication, cable, advertising, film, radio, television, t.v., cultural studies, communication

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).