Using EBSCO eBooks

In the row of tools across the top of the eBook Viewer, from left to right, clicking on:

1. Result List or New Search - closes the eBook and returns user to Result list, eBook detailed record or Search page
2. Add to folder - saves the eBook to the EBSCO folder (must be logged into MyEBSCOhost account to store eBook for future sessions) / Clicking on Remove from folder deletes item from EBSCO folder
3. Save Pages - saves specific number of eBook pages to a PDF file in the EBSCO folder
   Email Pages - emails specific number of eBook pages as a PDF file
   Print Pages - prints specific number of eBook pages as a PDF file
   IMPORTANT: Individual publishers set limits on the overall number of pages that a user can save/email/print from a single eBook within the eBook viewer, from a minimum of zero to a maximum of 100 pages per title/per user.
4. Cite - provides a list of the eBook's citation information in various formats
5. Dictionary - makes available a search box to look up word definitions
6. Export - allows to save or email the eBook's citation information in one of available file formats
7. Permalink - provides a persistent link to the specific eBook page currently visible in the Viewer
8. Google Drive - exports eBook pages as a PDF file to your Google Drive folder
9. Full Download - checks the book out for offline reading at a later time (instructions on how to check out/download an EBSCO eBook are available under the Checking Out / Returning eBooks tab in this guide)
10. Contents - lists the eBook's Table of Contents
11. Search within - makes available a search box to locate specific terms within the text of the eBook
12. My Notes - allows for creating new notes and viewing existing notes related to the eBook (must be logged into MyEBSCOhost account to save/view notes for future use)

The EBSCO eBook Viewer bottom toolbar shows slightly different controls, depending on whether you are viewing the eBook in PDF or EPUB format.

When viewing eBooks in PDF format, the following options are available on the toolbar at the bottom of the viewer.

• Page Navigation = use the page navigation arrows to move up or down one page at a time or enter a page number in the field provided and click strong>Go to move several pages up or down
• Zoom Out = see a wider area of the page but a smaller picture
• Zoom In = see a smaller area of the page, but a larger picture
• Fit Page Width = fit the width of the page in the viewing area
• Fit Page = view the entire page in the viewing area
• Fit Page to Viewport = fit the entire page into the viewport
  

When viewing eBooks in EPUB format, the following options are available on the toolbar at the bottom of the viewer.

• Chapter Navigation = Use the navigation arrows to change the chapter or section of an eBook title you are reading. Contents of the chapter or section can be read using vertical scrolling.
• Zoom Out = display the text in a smaller font size
• Zoom In = display text in a larger font size
• Fit Page to Viewport = fit the entire page into the viewport
  

IMPORTANT: Depending on publisher-specified limits, up to 100 pages of an EBSCO eBook can be printed, saved or emailed per user from within the eBook viewer. Once you have reached your printing limit, the option to print or save eBook pages will be temporarily unavailable.

To Print eBooks pages as a PDF file:

1. Access the full text of the eBook by clicking on PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text
2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to save and click the Print Pages link
   The Print Pages to PDF menu displays.
   
3. Select one of the following options to include in the PDF:
   • Current Page: save the page you are viewing.
   • Current Page and the next XX pages: enter the number of pages (up to the maximum allowed by the eBook you are reading) in the field provided.
   • This Section: Select to save the entire section of the eBook. (If available to select)
4. Configure your print settings and click Print PDF to print your pages.

To save eBook pages as a PDF file:

1. Access the full text of the eBook by clicking on PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text
2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to save and click the Save Pages link.
3. The Save Pages to PDF menu is displayed.
   
4. Select to include in the PDF:
   • Current Page: Save the page you are viewing.
   • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the Page Limit indicated in the box above) in the field provided.
   • This Section: Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook. (If available to select)
5. Select:
   • Save PDF: To save the selected pages to your computer.
   • Send as an E-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF
6. Open the saved PDF and use the Adobe Print function to print out your saved pages

To e-mail eBook pages as a PDF file:

1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.
2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the E-mail Pages link.
   The E-mail PDF menu is displayed.
   
3. Include in the PDF:
   • Current Page: Save the page you are viewing.
   • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the Page Limit indicated in the box above) in the field provided.
   • This Section: Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook. (If available to select)
4. Under Send as E-mail:
   • Citation Format: Select a citation format from the drop-down menu.
   • E-mail from: Enter a valid e-mail address.
   • E-mail to: Enter the e-mail address of your recipient. To send to more than one e-mail address, use a semicolon between each e-mail address.
   • Subject: Add an e-mail subject line.
   • Comments: Enter comments you would like included in the body of the e-mail.
5. Click E-mail PDF

The My Notes feature assists with your research by allowing you to take notes when reading an eBook and save them to your My EBSCOhost folder for later viewing.

1. In the eBook Viewer, click My Notes at the top of the left column.
2. Click the + New Note button that appears in the Notes area. If there are existing notes, they appear in a list in the Notes area.
   
   IMPORTANT: To save/view notes for later use, you need to be logged in to your EBSCO account.
3. Enter your note text in the field provided and click the Save button. You can adjust how the text appears in your note using the Bold, Italics, and Underline buttons above the text field
   
4. Your saved note appears in the Notes list.
   You can sort your saved notes by Date or the Page number on which they appear.
   
5. Clicking on a note in the list reveals the available options for that note.
   • Click the Book icon to view the eBook page the note is saved on.
   • Click the Pencil icon to edit the note text.
   • Click the Printer icon to print the note.
   • Click the Trashcan icon to remove the note.
   
   
6. Click Contents at the top of the column to return to the Table of Contents

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

• Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
• Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
• Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
• Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).