Research Guides: American Civil War: Databases

Databases

History Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.

Use JSTOR Tutorials for help with searching in the database.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the individuals who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.

In the First Person
Provides in-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world.

Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of citations and abstracts to dissertations & theses from around the world from 1743 to the present day.
Dissertations and Theses - Texas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the records of electronic theses and dissertations submitted by Texas institutions that are members of the Texas Digital Library.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access over 32,000 full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly articles encompassing all fields of the humanities
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and contains full-text articles from thousands of journals, magazines and books covering all aspects of the humanities
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of eJournals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.

U-Search - History

Suggested Keywords

War Between the States; War of Rebellion; War of Secession; War for Southern Independence; War for the Union; War of Northern [or Southern] Aggression; Freedom War; names of battles; names of prominent individual.

Manassas AND Bull Run

United States History Civil War 1861 1865 Personal narratives Confederate

"United States" women "Civil War"

Civil War women soldiers

United States History--19th Century

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).