Research Guides: Microbiology: Reference

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by John M. Lackie (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Provides clear and concise definitions needed for laboratory study. With over 12,000 entries and a breadth of terms across bioscience, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology, this resource reflects the changes in the research over the past few years.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury
Publication Date: 2007
Covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Anne Maczulak
Publication Date: 2011
Presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere. This resource explores all aspects of microbiology from mycology (the study of fungi) to the simplest biological entities of all, viruses, to prions.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Thomas M. Schmidt (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.

Guide to Foodborne Pathogens by Ronald G. Labbé (Editor); Santos García (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Covers pathogens-bacteria, viruses, and parasites-that are most commonly responsible for foodborne illness.
Handbook of Microbiological Media
Call Number: QR66.3 .A85 2004
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Contains formulations and uses of media for isolation, culture, identification, and maintenance of microorganisms.
Practical Handbook of Microbiology by Emanuel Goldman (Editor); Lorrence H. Green (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Presents basic knowledge about working with microorganisms in a clear and concise form.

Suggested Keywords

bacteriology, bacteria, microorganisms, protozoans, viruses, fungi, archaea, algae, phages, viruses, viroids, prions, applied microbiology, environmental microbiology, prokaryotic cell, eukaryotic cell, mitosis, pathogen, spores, aerobic, culture, petri dish

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).

Microbiology

Browse the library shelves

Quick Help

Reference Databases

Reference Books / eBooks

Suggested Keywords

Ask a Librarian